Farmer Profile for Ana Arruabarrena

Please describe your past and/or present farming experience

LOOKING FOR SMALL HOME WITH PASTURE LAND TO LEASE - BUY - RENT TO BUY. INTERESTED IN CO-FARMING WITH NEIGHBORS (as an option), sharing farming responsibilities. I have many years of container gardening experience as I have lived in an urban environment. I currently have a small flock of laying hens which I plan to grow into a pastured egg business. An orchard, or livestock pasture would be ideal. I have 2 years of apple picking experience in Shelburne Orchard in Vermont and Astigarraga, Spain. I also spent 2 years involved in making and processing natural hard cider in the Basque Country, Spain.

Are you currently farming?

No

Are you interested in connecting with other farmers to explore collocation or collaborative farm ideas?

Yes

Counties being considered

Bennington
Windham
Windsor

What is the primary agricultural enterprise you are considering?

Poultry

What other enterprises are you considering?

Apple/Fruit
Berries
Christmas Trees
Dairy (cows)
Goats
Greenhouse
Herbs
Maple Sugaring
Poultry
Sheep
Vegetables

Total Acres Desired

3.0

Organic

Yes

Farmhouse Needed

Yes

Which of the following arrangements are you considering?

Apprentice with a Farm Owner for a Year or More
Lease with Option to Buy
Long-Term Lease
Owner-Financed Sale
Partnership
Short-Term Lease
Standard Sale
Work to Own (Gradual Transfer of Responsibility & Farm Assets)

Are you interested in conserved farms?

Yes

Do you have a business plan? Please write an informative description of your vision & goals for your farming future.

My vision is to create a homestead using regenerative agriculture principals, with several streams of revenue. The agricultural venture will depend on what the land and surrounding area ask of me, but will certainly include eggs, vegetables, berries, fruit and honey, as well as fiber animals like sheep and alpacas. I am open to exploring various possibilities depending upon local demand and land capacity. Over time I hope to include: -Sustainable housing for long or short term rental such as a cabin or yurt. -Dog boarding and training (small scale) and potentially other pets (I have done dog sitting and training in the past) -Market garden. -Educational experiences for children. The vision is founded upon the word “sanctuary”, it is small-scale operation upon which a healthy and sustainable lifestyle can be lived. I feel called to being a foster parent, and hope to create an environment where children in the foster care system can find refuge, as well as a connection to the natural world. I believe that developing caretaking relationships with plants and animals has the potential to be profoundly healing for those who lack stability in their lives. I hope to provide a place where that is possible for myself and others.